What did you want to be when you were a kid?

Discuss anything interesting but not remotely Countdown-related here.

Moderator: Jon O'Neill

Michael Wallace
Racoonteur

What did you want to be when you were a kid?

Post by Michael Wallace »

Pretty self-explanatory, really - when you were a kid, what career path did you see your future self following, and how has that worked out?

When I was very young I wanted to be a mathematician - obviously I didn't really know what that actually meant as a job, but I liked doing maths problems so I figured "yeah, this seems good". Then when I got a bit older (like, 8 or 9?) I realised that 'mathematician' wasn't really an actual job, so instead I decided I wanted to be an accountant, as this was the only job I was aware of that used maths.

As it turns out, I'm now a statistician, so I've almost wound up in my childhood dream, which is a bit weird (even if it's nothing like what my five year old self actually envisaged).

Anyone else?
Mark Deeks
Fanatic

Re: What did you want to be when you were a kid?

Post by Mark Deeks »

Cartoonist. Then a crazy golf course owner. Then a fireman, before I remembered I was asthmatic and afraid of heights.
Eoin Monaghan wrote:
He may not be liked on here, but you have to give some credit to Mark
Michael Wallace
Racoonteur

Mark Deeks wrote:Cartoonist. Then a crazy golf course owner. Then a fireman, before I remembered I was asthmatic and afraid of heights.
So you went with crazy golf course owner after all? Wicked. I feel a co-event coming on.
Mark James
Kiloposter

Post by Mark James »

I went through a whole range of things including architect and fireman but for a long while the height of my ambition was to work in a video store so I could watch movies all day.
Mark Deeks
Fanatic

Post by Mark Deeks »

Michael Wallace wrote:
Mark Deeks wrote:Cartoonist. Then a crazy golf course owner. Then a fireman, before I remembered I was asthmatic and afraid of heights.